Friends

The Jr. High lockers were assigned alphabetically and that’s how we met.  Michele Poling and Deb Pontius were involved  in choir and band all the way through High School and we had a casual friendship.  After graduation we went separate ways but soon ended up in our home  town married, raising our families and becoming very close friends. 

Our friendship goes deep down in my heart and cannot be separated from me.  If I were to remove Michele from me I wouldn’t be the same person I am today.  She has helped shape and mold me as no one else could.   We laugh, dream, cry, struggle, pray, grow, share, hold each other together, and the list goes on.  Through the years when I would start unraveling at the seams Jimmy or our daughters would say, “It’s time for you to call Michele.  It’s time for a Michele visit.”  I have been very thankful that they have been willing to share me and encourage me to have such a wonderful friendship. 

We have lived in separate states for 25 years and have continued to grow closer together.  Last August we were able to meet and spend Michele’s birthday week celebrating in Colorado.

Colorado 2011 with Michele 1051

Anything, everything, little or big is an adventure when the right person shares it.

This is a picture of one of the very best days of my life.  It was taken by our friends who very graciously allowed us to spend a week with them in their Colorado home.  Troy and Judy introduced us to new friends, we hiked, we toured, we went to concerts, we learned to dance, we ate Judy’s good cooking, we laughed, we enjoyed paradise in Colorado. 

Colorado 2011 with Michele 1049

Savor the moments that are warm and special and giggly.

Colorado 2011 with Michele 274Colorado 2011 with Michele 275

Colorado 2011 with Michele 277Colorado 2011 with Michele 278

Sometimes it’s best to be the one taking the pictures. (I’m going to be in big trouble for this!)

Colorado 2011 with Michele 635

Practicing for “dancing with the stars”.

Colorado 2011 with Michele 290

Troy and Judy Carter.  Great friends for another post.

I am thankful to say this post has no ending.  Friendships just keep growing and going.

Enjoy your friends.  xo deb

12 thoughts on “Friends

  1. How is it possible that we have lived here *that* long!?!?! 25 years???? I stopped and did the math, and I was mortified that you were right!!! It seems like just yesterday in so many ways that we moved, and then again, it seems like a lifetime…far longer than the 25 years we *have* been here.

    There must be something to those “M” names….I’ve told you before, my Miranda is my “Michele”….and your Michele holds a very special place in my heart as well.

  2. Memories are made of this. . . . brings back lots of fun memories. Had comments on the lovely glasses today at church. I had forgotten that shopping trip. Told Troy about your posting & Juliette’s “compliment”; he laughed and said “that was a lot of fun that day in the shop!” You and Michelle are the best–always like to look at those photos and our calendar.

Leave a Reply

