A pleasant surprise

A pleasant surprise

Today I am beginning a new journey to improve my self discipline.  Schedules have always been my motivation to staying on task and my life at the present time has very flexible days.  Walking every day is at the top of my list.  Off I go!

As I rounded the first corner I spotted something lying in the road.

hearts and davis babies 001

The leaf immediately took my mind to 1 John chapter 4 verses 7 & 8. 

This is my personal interpretation.

Friends, let us love each other.

Because love comes from God.

hearts and davis babies 002

And anyone that loves is grafted into God and knows God.

If you do not love. You do not know God because…

God is love!

Friends, let us love each other.

As I looked ahead I spotted…

hearts and davis babies 003

another tinier heart shaped leaf.  Now it was time to look around a see where the leaves came from.  A tree?   A bush?   Just two leaves and no tree or bush with heart shaped leaves within sight.  

Since God is the creator of all things, and since there is no other explanation of where the leaves came from, I am considering the leaves a love reminder to me (and you) from God.

This evening our family conversation wandered into… How do you describe following God to someone who is seeking God ?

When you read the red letters in the Bible you are reading the teaching of Jesus.  Jesus speaks and lives love and forgiving.  When we make the decision to follow God’s ways love and forgiving become our ultimate goal.  Yep, we make all kinds of mistakes but then is when we ask God and/or others to forgive us and we get up and dust off the seat of our pants and move forward one baby step at a time for the rest of our life.

I know I’ve posted this before but 1 Corinthians chapter 13:4-8 is important to read and memorize and live every day.

4 Love is patient,

love is kind.

It does not envy,

it does not boast,

it is not proud. 5

It does not dishonor others,

it is not self-seeking,

it is not easily angered,

it keeps no record of wrongs. 6

Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7

It always protects,

always trusts,

always hopes,

always perseveres.

8 Love never fails.

hearts and davis babies 005

Thank you for letting me share my day with you. xo deb

Leave a Reply

